Fine Arts

Houston High School Visual and Performing Arts Academy

Houston High School Visual and Performing Arts Academy Link

Fine Arts Event Calendar

Apr
1

Teacher Appreciation Week

Mon Apr 1 2019
to Fri Apr 5 2019
Apr
19

NO SCHOOL - Good Friday

Fri Apr 19 2019

Fine Arts Teacher Websites

Teachers

Dogwood Elementary

Webpage

Teacher

Email

Visual Art

Ashley Luyendyk

Ashley.Luyendyk@gmsdk12.org

Music

Peter Simons

Peter.simons@gmsdk12.org

Music

Joe Smith

Joseph.smith@gmsdk12.org

Orchestra

Steven Short

Stephen.Short @gmsdk12.org

Farmington Elementary

Webpage

Teacher

Email

Visual Art

Rebekah Laurenzi

Rebekah.laurenzi@gmsdk12.org

Visual Art

Marci Styer

Marci.styer@gmsdk12.org

Music

Amy Assad

Amy.assad@gmsdk12.org

Music

Joe Smith

Joseph.smith@gmsdk12.org

Orchestra

Long Long Kang

LongLong.kang@gmsdk12.org

Orchestra

Steven Short

Stephen.Short @gmsdk12.org

Riverdale K-8 School

Webpage

Teacher

Email

Visual Art

Melissa Cychowski

Melissa.Cychowski@gmsdk12.org

Visual Art

Erin Sutton

Erin.sutton@gmsdk12.org

Visual Art

Tracy Sammon

Tracy.samons@gmsdk12.org

Band

Brent Hopper

Brent.hopper@gmsdk12.org

Choir

Katherine Caudle

Katherine.Caudle@gmsdk12.org

Orchestra

Steven Short

Stephen.Short @gmsdk12.org

Houston Middle School

Webpage

Teacher

Email

Visual Art

Hanna Wroblewski

Hanna.Wroblewski@gmsdk12.org

Visual Art

Robyn Nickell

Robyn.nickell@gmsdk12.org

 Visual Art

Hillary Higginbotham

Hillary.Higginbotham@gmsdk12.org

Choir/General Music

Ramon Moses

Ramon.Moses@gmsdk12.org

Orchestra

Long Long Kang

LongLong.Kang@gmsdk12.org

Band

Spencer Nesvick

Spencer Nesvick@gmsdk12.org

Houston High School

Webpage

Teacher

Email

Theater

Kell Gary

Kell.Gary@gmsdk12.org

Media

John “Drew” Hamilton

John.hamilton@gmsdk12.org

Orchestra

Long Long Kang

LongLong.Kang@gmsdk12.org

Visual Art

Amanda Schulter

Amanda.schulter@gmsdk12.org

Choir

Kinsey Moline

Kinsey.Moline@gmsdk12.org

Assistant Band Director

John Hagan

John.Hagan@gmsdk12.org

Visual Art

Bobby Spillman

Bobby.spillman@gmsdk12.org

Band Director

Matthew Taylor

Matthew.taylor@gmsdk12.org

fineartsacademy@gmsdk12.org

Subscribe to our News Feed.

Color guard dancers tango with members of The Houston Band during a live performance.

It takes two to tango—or 240 to tango in the case of The Houston Band—as they prepare for their fall competition season

Germantown, Tennessee--September 10, 2018--There are students all over the Houston High campus tucked away in corners learning how to tango.  This year’s band program, according to The Houston Band Director Matt Taylor, “centers around the work of Astor Piazzolla". More +
Students at HMS STEAM camp play with homemade slime at a lunch table.

This year’s STEM Stangs camp enjoyed an artistic overlay

Germantown, Tennessee--June 14, 2018--Houston Middle STEAMed into their annual summer STEM Stangs Camp.  STEAM, in case you were wondering, is a melding of science, technology, engineering, math AND art.  Each year, the staff at GMSD arranges an excellently themed summer camp open to all Germantown students.  Campers this year spent each morning learning and making artistic messes, tie dying shirts, exploring glowing slime, growing crystal gardens, and creating bubbling lava lamps that all sparked students’ curiosity.   More +
Days of Diversity exceeds attendance expectations and celebrates students

Days of Diversity exceeds attendance expectations and celebrates students

“Days of Diversity” is an annual school-wide event centered on a theme dedicated to providing education and experience of world culture to students.  With a week long roster of activities, performances,  More +
HHS Choir proudly presents Disney Dessert Show this weekend

HHS Choir proudly presents Disney Dessert Show this weekend

Houston High Choir's annual fundraiser, taking place this upcoming Saturday, has a magical twist with a Disney theme, delicious desserts, an incredible silent auction, and a 50/50 raffle. More +
Ready for some Creative Summer Fun?!? Join us at HMS Art Camp

Ready for some Creative Summer Fun?!? Join us at HMS Art Camp

Mrs. Robyn Nickell will be conducting an art camp this summer at Houston Middle School from May 30th through June 2nd. The art camp will be from 9am-1pm and is open to all upcoming HMS sixth grade artists. More +
GPAC wants YOU at their summer camps

GPAC wants YOU at their summer camps

GPAC is offering several unique and fun summer camps this year. Visit https://www.gpacweb.com/camps/ to register today! More +
Farmington is Family—Local elementary school promoted annual day to celebrate its international population

Farmington is Family—Local elementary school promoted annual day to celebrate its international population

A small group of teachers were busy preparing for Farmington Elementary School’s annual Multi-Cultural Festival. Head of the planning committee, third grade teacher Wendy Vires is practically brimming with excitement over the many events, “We’ll... More +
Alumni Highlights: Elliott Heck stars in new CMT series, "Sun Records"

Alumni Highlights: Elliott Heck stars in new CMT series, "Sun Records"

Elliott Heck graduated in 2015 from Houston High School. Soon after graduating, Elliott landed an audition for Sun Records through his agency Colors. More +
Casting Call!  My Teacher Has Superpowers

Casting Call! My Teacher Has Superpowers

The Germantown Municipal School District Communications Department is partnering with Germantown Municipal Television (based out of the Houston High School’s studio) to produce a short film called My Teacher Has Superpowers. We are seeking 16-20 students grades K-12.
More +
HHS Choirs hosting English composer Will Todd in a residency

HHS Choirs hosting English composer Will Todd in a residency

The Houston High School Choirs of Germantown, TN will be hosted English composer and conductor, Will Todd, in a brief residency on January 23 and 24, 2017. The residency included a choral reading session for middle and high school choral directors as well as local church musicians on Monday evening at HHS. More +
A staggering 24 students from HHS were selected for the All-State Choir

A staggering 24 students from HHS were selected for the All-State Choir

Congratulations to the 18 outstanding GMSD musicians who were selected for the TN State Honor Choir. Comparatively, HHS had the most students selected for the choir in our region. Including alternates, HHS placed 24 students in the choir.  More +
Join us for a unique Snowman Painting Party

Join us for a unique Snowman Painting Party

On Tuesday December 13th, the art teachers at Riverdale will host a unique holiday event aimed at the larger community. The party fee includes all materials and some top notch instruction. Plus, your money will directly benefit their art program. More +
39 GMSD Orchestra students selected for All-West

39 GMSD Orchestra students selected for All-West

Congratulations to Dr. Long Long Kang and Stephen Short for a strong showing at this year's competitive All-West auditions. More +
Art in the Airport: Two Houston students are honored

Art in the Airport: Two Houston students are honored

Two Houston High School students, Krista Lebovitz and Ellen Suchomel, were selected out of over 200 entries to create a 4x3 foot canvas with the theme "Memphis music, sights and sounds." More +
 Two Houston High teachers are hitting all the right notes

Two Houston High teachers are hitting all the right notes

Jason Middlekauff and Candace Plaisance teach by day, but are artists by night.  More +
River Arts Fest Grant put to good use at Riverdale

River Arts Fest Grant put to good use at Riverdale

Riverdale Elementary uses a grant awarded from the River Arts Fest to add ceramic flowers and art to their greenspace around the school. More +
Student Spotlight:  Billy Elliot opens this week, featuring a GMSD student

Student Spotlight: Billy Elliot opens this week, featuring a GMSD student

Katy Cotten, a 7th grader at Houston Middle School, makes the leap to professional theater this month in Billy Elliot.   More +
View text-based website