Two elementary students recognized by TN Secretary of State Tre Hargett in annual Civics Essay Contest

NASHVILLE, Tennessee--January 4, 2018--Tennessee Secretary of State Tre Hargett on Wednesday recognized elementary, middle and high school students from across the state for writing outstanding essays on leadership and civic engagement.  Two students from Germantown Municipal School District were among twenty-two took top honors in the essay category.

Winners of the Secretary of State’s third annual Civics Essay Contest will receive a TNStars 529 College Savings Program scholarship and a trip to the State Capitol to visit Secretary Hargett this spring.

Bryn Bennett was proud to represent Farmington Elementary School, securing an honorable mention for the K-3rd age division.  From Dogwood, Kate Wingfield earned a second place rating and a $250 scholarship prize.  Both girls will travel to Nashville this spring.
(Left, Bryn Bennett enjoys writing in Ms. Sparks' class at Farmington Elementary / Right, Kate Wingfield is proud of her family member, Nora Wingfield)

Kate Wingfield’s winning essay was titled The Brave Commander and detailed the career of a close female family member, Nora Wingfield, who was a Vice Admiral in the Navy until her recent retirement. In it, Kate shared the proud fact that Nora Wingfield was the first woman to lead a U.S. Navy ship fleet. Kate was also able to attend two of Nora’s promotion ceremonies; one in Norfolk and the other in San Diego. 

“Encouraging young people to be part of the civic process is one of the most important things we can do to cultivate the next generation of leaders,” Hargett said. “Our goal is for students to recognize their important roles as citizens, and we hope this essay contest generates conversations about civic engagement in classrooms across Tennessee.”

The annual Civics Essay Contest is open to all public, private and homeschool students in Tennessee. Essays are judged by employees at the Tennessee State Library and Archives and the Tennessee Department of Education.

Winners of the 2018 contest include:
3 – 5th Grade:
• First: Diana Cho, A.L. Lotts Elementary School (Knox County)
• Second: Kate Wingfield, Dogwood Elementary School (Shelby County)
• Third: Kerrington Land, Rivercrest Elementary School (Shelby County)
• Honorable Mentions: Caden Adams, Union STEM Elementary School (Sumner County); 
Susannah Pehrson, Oakdale School (Morgan County)
K – 2nd Grade:
• First: Blaine West, Robert F. Woodall Primary School (Robertson County)
• Second: Margheretta Shults, Farragut Primary School (Knox County)
• Third: Riley Aylor, Blue Grass Elementary School (Knox County)
• Honorable Mentions: Bryn Bennett, Farmington Elementary School (Shelby County); 
Mallori Roberts, Robert F. Woodall Primary School (Robertson County);
Myles Hopkins, Ezell-Harding Christian School (Davidson County)

Print This Article
View text-based website