Scholarship Spotlight

Logan Wu and Sydney Kong, both students from Houston High School, have been named semifinalists for the Presidential Scholarship. This highly competitive scholarship program starts with 5,000 applicants nationwide, from which only about 600 students make it to the semifinalist round. With only 17 semifinalists from Tennessee, Houston High School is proud to have two of its students make it to this level of the competition. For more information about the Presidential Scholarship program and a complete list of semifinalists, please see the official website at

Congratulations to Samantha Coblentz, who was selected as the 2023 recipient of the Harla Johnson Scholarship for future educators. This scholarship is awarded annually by the Houston High School Parent Teacher Student Organization (HHS PTSO).

Sydney Kong was recently recognized by the Kiwanis of Germantown with the Jim Mitchell Kiwanis ScholarshipElijah Sanders received the Kiwanis Service Award. We would also like to extend our gratitude to HHS Key Club Faculty Advisor, Chris O’Brien, for his guidance and support to these outstanding students. And, thank you to our neighborhood supporters, the Kiwanis of Germantown!